More Adult, Less Censored Discussion of Agent 007 and Beyond : Where Your Hangovers Are Swiftly Cured

HomeHome  EventsEvents  WIN!WIN!  Log in  RegisterRegister  

John Logan

Go down 
+2
CJB
Salomé
6 posters
AuthorMessage
Salomé
Potential 00 Agent
Potential 00 Agent
Salomé

John Logan Empty
PostSubject: John Logan   John Logan EmptyMon Feb 21, 2022 7:09 am

So supposedly John Logan is responsible for some of the best bits of the movie (National Gallery scene at Turner's The Fighting Temeraire, the "what makes you think this is my first time?" scene, ...).

I was under the impression his contributions to Spectre were even more substantial (I don't know if this is actually accurate).
But if it is, what happened? How do you how from writing some of the more memorable scenes in Skyfall to being responsible for utter dreck like Spectre?
Back to top Go down
CJB
00 Agent
00 Agent
CJB

John Logan Empty
PostSubject: Re: John Logan   John Logan EmptyMon Feb 21, 2022 8:35 am

Might have to agree on disagree on some of those bits.

Weird soy-Q monologuing about a painting as if he's familiar with any art outside the veedja game realm and *grumble*bloody big ship*grunt" were not highlights for me.

I guess the reason it all went to shit is you had tonally inconsistent movies. The post-QOS Bonds, with differing degrees of success, tried to start aping some of the OTT tropes while also maintaining the deep n' gritty overlay. Chuck a lead who doesn't want to be there and has but two modes (mumble and scowl) and you have a recipe for something that's going to fall apart writing-wise.
Back to top Go down
trevanian
Head of Station
Head of Station
trevanian

John Logan Empty
PostSubject: Re: John Logan   John Logan EmptyMon Feb 21, 2022 1:42 pm

I've no evidence for this, but always just figured the museum scene was because the director wanted to shoot there, sort of like why MARATHON MAN has an opera house scene.