More Adult, Less Censored Discussion of Agent 007 and Beyond : Where Your Hangovers Are Swiftly Cured

HomeHome  EventsEvents  WIN!WIN!  Log in  RegisterRegister  

Cinematography

Go down 
4 posters
AuthorMessage
Largo's Shark
00 Agent
00 Agent

Cinematography Empty
PostSubject: Cinematography   Cinematography EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 1:56 am

This is a thread for all things cinematographic. I'm an amateur (film) photographer and have had an interest in cinematography for the last couple of years, mostly browsing on places cinematography.com and soaking up the jargon and techniques from folks like Roger Deakins and David Mullen.

Here's a question for Kevin/trev - how did Ernest Laszlo get his signature hard-lit look for films like SHIP OF FOOLS, FANTASTIC VOYAGE, AIRPORT and LOGAN'S RUN? What film stock and lighting set-ups did he use?
Back to top Go down
trevanian
Head of Station
Head of Station
trevanian

Cinematography Empty
PostSubject: Re: Cinematography   Cinematography EmptyThu Sep 19, 2013 3:45 am

It does my street cred no good to admit this, but I didn't even realize the same guy shot all those movies, to be honest (and I mix him up with Andrew L too.) I love the way the metal of the plane is dark and shiny in 'PORT, that's for sure.

This gives me a good excuse to go find VOYAGE again, as I recently got FOOLS on BR with LILITH, plus I plan on buying the SOYLENT/OMEGAMAN/LOGAN triple bill BR when it comes out in a couple months.